FEN Board

The Faculty of Emergency Nursing Board is composed of a team of emergency nurses who volunteers to develop and delilver the Faculty of Emergency Nursing. As a Board, we have a minimum of two representatives from England, Ireland, Northern Ireland, Scotland and Wales. Plus we have board respresentatives from Faculty of Pre-Hospital Care (FPHC), Royal College of Emergency Medicine (RCEM) and RCEM ACP Forum.

In response to FEN growing in members and work to deliver on the education programmes  and develop the comptencies into qualifications and the requirement to accredit the qualifications we have established sub-boards as per the chart above.

Should you wish to join one of the Boards, please contact us using the form below.


As of November 2023 the current members of the Faculty of Emergency Nursing Board are:

Dr Claire McCarthy, President, Finance Board

Emma Edwards, Deputy Chair Education Board, Welsh Representative

Fiona McDaid, Competency Board, Irish Representative

Helen Mcneilly, Northern Ireland Representative

Jan Jackson, Secretary, Finance Board

Jeanette Welsh, President Elect, Education Lead, Chair of Education Board, Finance Board

Jon George, Finance Board, Welsh Representative

Judith Morgan. Competency Lead, Chair of Competency Board and Internal Quality Assurance Board (IQAB)

Kayleigh Chainey, Accreditation and Qualifications Consultant, Competency Board, Agored Cymru Centre Lead. 

Karen Johnson, Scottish Representative. 

Karen Kyle, Competency Board, Paediatric and Northern Ireland Representative.

Nathan Griffiths, Competency Board, Paediatric Representative. 

Vicki Ostrowski, Business Consultant, Treasurer and Chair Finance Board

Ros Carlile, Deputy Chair Education Board

Ruth Cave, Competency Board

Sandra Roberts, Competency Board, Welsh Representative

Suzie Rodell, Education Bundle and Website Lead, CPDme link.

Andy Thurgood, FPHC Representative

Prof. Frank Coffey, RCEM Representative

Sara Morgan, RCN Emergency Care Forum Representative